Top 10 Best Werewolf Movies of All Time

10. Wolf, 1994
Wolf is a 1994 American horror film directed by Mike Nichols and written by Jim Harrison, Wesley Strick, and an uncredited Elaine May, with music by Ennio Morricone and cinematography by Giuseppe Rotunno.
Release date: June 17, 1994 (USA)
Director: Mike Nichols
Running time: 125 minutes
MPAA rating: R
Screenplay: Jim Harrison, Wesley Strick
9. Dog Soldiers, 2002
Dog Soldiers is a 2002 British horror film written and directed by Neil Marshall, and starring Kevin McKidd, Sean Pertwee and Liam Cunningham. A British production, set in the highlands of Scotland, it was filmed almost entirely in Luxembourg.
Initial release: March 22, 2002
Director: Neil Marshall
Sequel: Dog Soldiers: Fresh Meat
MPAA rating: R
Initial DVD release: November 5, 2002
8. Underworld: Evolution, 2006
derworld: Evolution is a 2006 action-vampire film directed by Len Wiseman. It is the second installment in the Underworld series, following Underworld in 2003. The events of the film begin during the same night of the first film's finale.
Release date: January 20, 2006 (USA)
Director: Len Wiseman
MPAA rating: R
Budget: 50 million USD
Screenplay: Danny McBride, Len Wiseman
7. The Wolfman, 2010
The Wolfman is a 2010 American remake of the 1941 classic werewolf horror film of the same name. This film's second half was significantly altered and expanded from the original film's plot.
Release date: February 12, 2010 (USA)
Director: Joe Johnston
MPAA rating: R
Story by: Curt Siodmak
Screenplay: Andrew Kevin Walker, David Self
6. Van Helsing, 2004
Van Helsing is a 2004 American horror action film directed by Stephen Sommers. It stars Hugh Jackman as vigilante monster hunter Gabriel Van Helsing, and Kate Beckinsale as Anna Valerious.
Release date: May 7, 2004 (USA)
Director: Stephen Sommers
MPAA rating: PG-13
Screenplay: Stephen Sommers
Editors: Bob Ducsay, Jim May, Kelly Matsumoto
5. The Howling, 1981
The Howling is a 1981 werewolf-themed horror film directed by Joe Dante. Based on the novel of the same name by Gary Brandner, the screenplay is written by John Sayles and Terence H. Winkless. The original music score is composed by Pino Donaggio.
Release date: April 10, 1981 (USA)
Director: Joe Dante
Sequel: Howling II: Your Sister Is a Werewolf
MPAA rating: R
Screenplay: John Sayles, Terence H. Winkless
4. Underworld: Rise of the Lycans, 2009
Underworld: Rise of the Lycans is a 2009 American action horror film directed by Patrick Tatopoulos.
Release date: January 23, 2009 (USA)
Director: Patrick Tatopoulos
MPAA rating: R
Sequel: Underworld
Initial DVD release: May 12, 2009
3. Silver Bullet, 1985
Silver Bullet is a 1985 horror film based on the Stephen King novella Cycle of the Werewolf. It stars Gary Busey, Everett McGill, Megan Follows, Corey Haim, Terry O'Quinn, Lawrence Tierney,
Release date: October 11, 1985 (USA)
Director: Dan Attias
Adapted from: Cycle of the Werewolf
MPAA rating: R
Screenplay: Stephen King
2. An American Werewolf in London, 1981
An American Werewolf in London is a 1981 horror dramedy film written and directed by John Landis, and starring David Naughton, Jenny Agutter, and Griffin Dunne.
Release date: August 21, 1981 (USA)
Director: John Landis
MPAA rating: R
Screenplay: John Landis
Awards: Academy Award for Best Makeup and Hairstyling
1. Underworld, 2003
Underworld is a 2003 action horror film directed by Len Wiseman about the secret history of Vampires and Lycans. It is the first installment in the Underworld series.
Release date: September 19, 2003 (USA)
Director: Len Wiseman
Prequel: Underworld: Rise of the Lycans
Sequel: Underworld: Evolution
Screenplay: Danny McBride